MG Legal Solicitors 
Longridge: 01772 783314 Garstang: 01995 602129 Lancaster: 01524 581306 Lytham: 01253 202452  

MG Legal, Nationwide Food Allergy Solicitors. The team that puts you first. Contact us for a free, no-obligation consultation: 01772 783314 or email at: 

Advice for those with food allergies taking part in veganuary 

If you are taking part in Veganuary this month and have a food allergy, it’s important to understand the difference between a food labelled ‘vegan’ or ‘plant-based’ and an ‘allergen-free’ claim.  
Always double check the ingredients to make sure vegan or plant-based products are free from your allergens and safe for you to eat. 
Many vegan or plant-based alternatives include ingredients that are common food allergens so it’s important to check the labels (including precautionary labelling such as ‘May contain’) or ask a member of staff. 
Vegan or plant-based alternatives to watch out for 
This list does not feature all ingredients. Please remember to check the ingredient label to see if the food is safe for you. 
Tofu is made from soya beans and is an important ingredient to avoid for anyone with a soya allergy. Tofu is used in a wide variety of dishes, often as a meat replacement but it can also be found in desserts, such as ice cream, or as a scrambled egg alternative. 
Tempeh, similar to tofu, tempeh is also soya-based and a versatile meat substitute. It can be found in a variety of products including vegan bacon. 
Seitan is sometimes regarded as a good alternative to tofu or tempeh if you have a soya allergy. However, this replacement comes from gluten and is unsuitable for anyone with a wheat allergy. It is often used as a meat alternative and commonly used to replicate chicken. 
Meat substitutes, if you are swapping meat for a substitute, be aware that some alternative ingredients might cause allergic reactions. Concentrated pea, soya and wheat protein is often used in meat substitutes. Because the protein in these foods is very concentrated, they might cause a more serious reaction if you eat them when you have an allergy to that food. Peas and soya belong to the legume plant family which includes peanuts, chickpeas, lentils and beans. Peas are not in the top 14 UK food allergens so won’t be highlighted in ingredient lists. 
Plant-based milk, There are so many alternatives to dairy milk, however, they often include other potential allergens such as almond, soy and coconut. If you are visiting a café or coffee shop, remember to ask staff about the risk of cross-contamination. Unfortunately, some venues will not be able to guarantee an allergen-free beverage if they are using the same equipment for all drinks. 
Quorn is a popular meat substitute made from mycoprotein. There is not very much information about allergic reactions to Quorn, but some people have reported symptoms. 
Vegan butter, cheese and yogurt, come in dairy-free alternatives, but these can also include other allergens. Be vigilant and double-check ingredients and ‘May contain’ labelling. 
Egg substitutes, there are lots of different replacements for eggs available made from a variety of different ingredients including aquafaba (chickpea water), nutritional yeast, corn starch and pea protein. Always double-check the label for allergen information. 
Our food allergy solicitors accept all of our food allergy claims and nut allergic reaction claims, on a NO WIN NO FEE basis, and have a success rate of over 99%. 
For further information, please visit our Food Allergy Claims or Food Allergy Compensation Claims Guide pages. 

Suffered a food allergy reaction, in the last 3 years?  Call 01772 783314 Or, fill in your details and our personal injury solicitors will contact you within one working hour. 

It can be surprising to find out that foods labelled vegan or plant-based can still contain traces of ‘animal’ allergens. There is no agreed definition for ‘vegan’ or ‘plant-based’ in UK food law, and it’s important never to rely on these terms to mean allergen-free. 
If you have a food allergy to an ‘animal’ allergen such as dairy, fish, crustacean, mollusc or egg, remember that a vegan or plant-based product may still have a ‘May contain’ warning for your allergen. This is because unintentional cross-contamination can occur when vegan or plant-based food is produced on the same line or in the same factory as non-vegan food. This means some vegan or plant-based food ‘may contain’ allergens. 
If you have an allergy to an animal product, never rely on a vegan or plant-based label to manage your allergy. 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings